Hollerday House was built in the 1890s on Hollerday Hill as the grand residence of the famous publisher Sir George Newnes.
The house was approached by a long carriage drive way, with entrance lodge, cut into the hillside starting from behind the Town Hall. The house boasted 21 bed rooms, 3 bath rooms, a spacious lounge, hall in oak, four receptions, a billiard room, offices, stables, motor garage, croquet lawns, gravel tennis courts and a bowling green, as well as 40 acres of Hollerday Hill.
Sir George Newnes died at his house in June 1910, having suffered ill health from diabetes for some time.
It was offered for sale in The Times in July 1911 for £13,000, however it did not sell. In August 1913 The Times printed the headline "DEVON MANSION DESTROYED BY FIRE - SUPPOSED SUFFRAGIST OUTRAGE", reporting the partial destruction of the house by fire.
The remains of the house were destroyed by the army as an exercise in the second world war. During WW2 the army destroyed a number of redundant structures in North Devon as similar exercises. In the 1950s, much of the stone from the house then went on to be taken away and used to rebuild the bridges in Lynbridge and Barbrook following the Lynmouth Flood Disaster.
Visitors can still today follow the drive up from beside the Town Hall to the site of Hollerday House. A limited amount remains of the building itself, however there are stunning views from the hill and there is also the 'secret garden' to discover of the old tennis courts.
Below is a computer reconstruction by Ken Blakey at Lee House, of Hollerday House, showing how it might look if it was still standing today.